Simple Provisions

Food does not need to be fancy to be celebrated

If, like me, your interest in food sits alongside an interest in fashion, then come follow me on my latest adventure, Misplaced Style.

I put Simple Provisions to bed in 2016. My interest in cooking never waned, but social media was changing blogging and it felt like a natural end. Thank you for following along as I became a better cook.

In 2020, during rolling lockdowns spent exclusively in soft clothes with time available for bread to rise and stews to simmer, I was enjoying cooking more than ever. However, as we emerged back into “normal life” I realised that I had forgotten how to dress myself. My personal style had been misplaced, and I asked TikTok to help me find it. This led me on a wild ride of not only rediscovering my personal style, appearing in The Guardian and The New York Times and on ABC Breakfast TV, and receiving an offer to write a book, but also a new career path in sustainable fashion.

In September 2022 I flew to Sydney to pitch my secondhand fashion startup to a room full of investors, ready to sign my first global customer and start shifting the Australian fashion industry to a more sustainable model. I’d been battling remnant Covid symptoms for months, but the trip to Sydney was the last straw for my body. I have been bedridden with Long Covid since I got home 7 months ago.

It has been the hardest thing I’ve ever dealt with, and I am forever grateful to my loving husband and the community supporting us. The debilitating brain fog is now starting to lift, and while I’m still in bed 24.6 hours per day, I can think clearly enough to write a newsletter every 2-3 weeks.

So, I am taking everything I’ve learned about personal style and sustainable fashion and putting it into a newsletter. This small task is bringing me purpose and joy.

If you enjoyed Simple Provisions, and have an interest in dressing to feel most like yourself and doing that without screwing the planet or your ethics, then please subscribe. I’d love to see you there.

What do you think?